Un Giro a Firenze Updated

Va bene. I have requests for English, so I will translate each Italian sentence after I write it. Ieri mattina sono andata a Firenze via l’autobus e poi in treno. Yesterday morning I went to Florence by bus and then a train. Rimango al appartamento Airbnb a Via Dante Alighieri, yes, Dante’s street, just two blocks from the Palazzo Vecchio, nel cuore dell città (in the heart of the city).

Mi piace viaggiare da sola perché vedo molto. Anche, devo parlare più in italiano. Ma, mi manca cenare con una altra persona.

I like traveling alone because I notice more. Also, I have to speak more in Italian. But, I miss eating dinner with another person.

The big (sad) story I wrote in Italian is that on Friday I asked Alberto and Silvia, my teachers, if I could move up to the higher level class this week, and they said no. I even showed them that I had already done some of the lessons we’re doing last summer in my workbook. They just give me more exercises. I know I need to practice more, and I enjoy my classes, but I feel a bit discouraged. Here’s an example of my “learning difference” with languages.

On the way to class one day last week, I saw a classmate. I said, “Non pieve oggi!” He said, “Piove.” The difference is between saying what I meant: It’s not raining today! And No churches today! Just because of one vowel. I have trouble with all the vowels in Italian  because there are so many in every word, it seems. Troppe vocale! Too many vowels. They get me tongue-tied, and they are easy to get dyslexic over.

That’s why I prefer writing and reading in Italian. In reading, I get the gist, and then look up on Google Translate the words I can’t figure out from context. In writing, it forces me to go more slowly and to “check my work” for careless errors or misspellings.

So, that’s my story. I love it here. I love my classes, the teachers, and my fellow students. The teachers always make it fun but hold us to high standards. Clearly. When I speak to my Airbnb hostesses and others in public (just your general travel Italian and describing my studies, where I live, what I do, how many kids I have) they tell me I speak Italian well. It’s when I have to compose in my head that I have trouble. I also think I have good pronunciation (for a straniera (foreigner) because of listening so much to native speakers).

Okay, Richard and probably Sandra (although she’s too kind to say so) are so tired of me lamenting that I’m a “slow learner” in Italian. Most people would have given up by now, but I am more determined that ever to make good on my investment. When I retire, I can return to my classes in Austin in order to keep it up. I bet you now wish I were writing in Italian!

Questa mattina vado a Messa a Santa Croce. Voglio essere al primo filo a vedere i freschi di Giotto! This morning I’m going to Mass at Santa Croce. I want to sit on the front row to see the Giotto frescoes!
Buon fortuna! Ho “late check out” today, so I can leave my things here until right before the train at 5:15 pm. I hope the rain continues to hold off (mostly) as it did yesterday.

Un bassrivielo della strada

Un bassorilievo alla strada

Un edificio a Oltrarno

Questo Palazzo è al Oltrarno (on the other side of the Arno River)

Il bar a Piazza Santo Spiritu

Piazza Santo Spiritu

Piazza Santo Spirito, one of my favorite piazzas in Oltrarno

The Wolves and the Grape: wonderful enoteca where I had crostone con burrata e finocchio (salami with fennel)

Crostone con burrata e finnochioLe Volpi e l’Uva

Molte persone fanno questa foto.

Classic tourist photo, but I never tire of the sight of the Duomo

Il mio appartamento a Via Dante

Il mio appartamento alla Via Dante Alighieri

View from my apartment. Palazzo Vecchio is two blocks straight ahead.

La vista dal mio appartamento. At the very end is the Palazzo Vecchio!

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Un Giro a Firenze Updated

  1. jmkennon says:

    Ahhhh Sara!! Firenze e molto bello! And, it looks as if the sun may have peeked out for a bit!

  2. sandra062013 says:

    I’m NOT tired of your lamenting the state of your Italian, I just want you to give yourself more credit for the progress you have made! The proof is in the pudding in that native speakers are telling you that you speak Italian well. Do you want to speak perfect Italian, or do you want to communicate? Stai comunicando molto bene!

Leave a comment