La Dolce Far Niente

FullSizeRender

La mia camera di letto

My avventura is winding down. Three more days of class, and then I take the bus, then train a Roma and then the Leonardo Express to the airport B&B.  After the whirlwind of Florence, even this extreme estroversa needed some alone time. Oh, I’m not the only one in my class anymore. Another Sara, without an h, and a Danish woman who’s name I missed, are in my class.  The Danish woman went to school for a year in Iowa and knows English as does most everyone. You really get a sense of shame at how monolingual most of us in the US are. Sara without an H is originally from the Czech Republic, has lived in Oslo for ten years, and before that, five years in Paris. She’s working on her fifth language! Still, I feel a bit gratified when Alberto corrects her grammar as well. I’m no longer alone in the spotlight.

We are going over indirect and direct pronouns, and I studied more than usual so I could be “una studentessa brava,” and then Alberto adds two more layers, where you combine the direct and indirect pronouns and then how you combine them in the past tense in a completely different way. Sometimes my head swims. Still, he’s intuitive, and even if I’m totally lost, he can somehow communicate the right answer to me so that I’m not completely humiliated. Except, towards the end of long grammar sessions, I just tell him, “Ho bisogno di una pausa.” I need a break! We also have another teacher in the afternoon, Costanza, who taught me with Eleanora during the first week. I feel like I’ve lived here for a year instead of just three and a half weeks. Why does time seem so drawn out, attenuated when we travel? Is it because we’re doing new things every day and have escaped our routine? And why does my facility with the English language not translate to Italian? Okay, these are my thoughts for the day. Sorry, Paul. Too much text! Tomorrow Marina and I are having dinner at my favorite restaurant here, La Pentolaccia. I would have gone to the pool this afternoon, but by the time I walk to bus station, and then wait for the return bus and walk back up the hill in the heat, well, it’s not so appealing.

Some photos I haven’t added before.

FullSizeRender 2

Il mia cucina e la mio salotto

Il mio studio, which I hardly ever use except to dry my laundry, following in Kurt’s footsteps


Local boys play calcio in the heat against medieval walls


An albergo on the Corso with vines


Another ceramic shrine

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to La Dolce Far Niente

  1. sandra062013 says:

    I love the albergo with the overgrown vines! Where on the Corso is that, I can’t believe I never noticed it. The countdown begins. Have enjoyed extending our Tuscan holiday through your blog. 😊

  2. ssteven2 says:

    It’s the back side of the one we walk by across from the lion -on -the -pillar piazza. I forget the name or don’t try to remember it because I’m trying to learn as much vocabulary as possible and have only so much room in my brain. Two more days and then goodbye. I’m getting nostalgic, but as Marina would say, live in the moment, or as Italians say: in questo momento.

  3. jmkennon says:

    I love your apartment–you always find the most magical places to stay! It’s fascinating to me how fluid the class is–can anyone join in at any time? It seems like there would be a lot of differences in ability levels, but Alberto seems to be able to juggle pretty much anything!

Leave a Reply

