Firenze Giorno Tre

È troppo caldo oggi, but we’re making the best of it. We stopped for a couple of hours in a hotel lounge of Lungarno Albergo to relax in the air conditioning and look at art books. This morning facciamo spese. Marina and I bought beautiful dresses from a local boutique of clothes locally designed and fatto di mano (handmade) in Italia, and then Zoe found teenager clothes at Brandy Melville. It’s one size only in the whole store, and the clothes all fit either prepubescent girls or anorexics. Don’t know how this can be a successful business plan, but apparently it’s popular.

After shopping, we walked over to the Oltrarno for lunch at Quattro Leoni. In the restroom I ran into a woman from Austin whose parents live in Italy as her father is Italian. It ends up I know her daughter from when she was at O. Henry because we used to talk about our love of Italy! She’s now 22, and we hugged.  The mom said she’d love to meet with me in Austin to practice our Italian. She gave me her business card, but I’ve lost it and can’t remember her name! È un piccolo mondo. Oh, we also went to La Chiesa del Carmine to see the Cappella Brancacci. Can’t spend a day in Florence without an art fix. I’ve seen the frescoes before, but they are among my favorites by three different artists: Masaccio, Massolino, e Fra Filippo Lippi (Filioppino Lippi). The frescoes are wonderful, and it’s a miracle they’ve been saved from both a Baroque renovation of the rest of the church and a fire in the 1700s.

Tip: If you click on any photo in the mosaic, it will give you the caption, or at least I added captions to most of them.

 

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Firenze Giorno Tre

  1. sandra062013 says:

    Sara, you know I am envying you your fresco viewing, especially the Masaccio! They are at the top of my list of things to see should I ever return to Florence. Looks like you are doing so much for only a weekend! Will you be happy to return to the slower pace of Montepulciano?

  2. ssteven2 says:

    Yes, we all sighed with appreciation as we drove through the sunflower fields on the way to Montepulciano. (Tell Kurt: Marina says they grow them for the sunflower oil). We missed our little hilltown. On the other hand, the art of Florence is “vale la pena!” I don’t think there is any place on the earth that has so many concentrated masterpieces. So, next time visit in May or September when it’s not as hot, and the tourists are fewer, and visit Florence and Siena. I could visit them every day and never tire of them.

  3. I love your new dress! And what an amazing chance encounter in the restaurant.

    On Sun, Jul 9, 2017 at 12:22 PM, estateitaliana wrote:

    > ssteven2 posted: “È troppo caldo oggi, but we’re making the best of it. We > stopped for a couple of hours in a hotel lounge of Lungarno Albergo to > relax in the air conditioning and look at art books. This morning facciamo > spese. Marina and I bought beautiful dresses from a ” >

Leave a Reply

