Pienza e Chiusi

This morning Sandra and I went for our daily cappuccini e croissants at Poliziano and then went to Pienza with Karl, Caroline, and Richard. The church of the Assumption of Mary is so beautiful. Pienza was a backwater until a Pope, whose hometown it was, spent a fortune of Vatican money to build a Renaissance cathedral, piazza, and other buildings. He also changed the name of the town to honor himself.

Church of the Assumption of Mary in Pienza

Church of the Assumption of Mary in Pienza

IMG_1802

IMG_1803Sandra and I found the Friday market, and I bought tablecloth for 7 Euros. It was much smaller than the one yesterday in Montepulciano, but my tablecloth salesman was super friendly. I bought this tablecloth for 7 Euros.

Tablecloth salesman at the Pienza mercato.

Tablecloth salesman at the Pienza mercato.

Sandra surveys seafood and octupi

Sandra surveys seafood and octupi

View of Pienza (with a bit of Richard's thumb)

View of Pienza (with a bit of Richard’s thumb)

Sandra and Karl in PIenza

Sandra and Karl in PIenza

We drove Caroline and Karl to the train station in Chiusi and said goodbye.  They are on their way to Rome. Richard and I checked out Chiusi on the way home and stopped for lunch. It was very dead, although it seemed they are preparing for a medieval festival this weekend. The drive back, as always, was beautiful through the Tuscan hills. I love whenever I first sight Montepulciano on its hilltop in the distance, with San Biagio resting quietly beneath.

This afternoon we walked around Montepulciano and went to Richard’s favorite place: the antiquarian bookstore. Richard told Tomas, the proprietor, that I studied Italian, so when I asked him a question, he went into a LONG explanation all in Italian, but not too fast, and I picked up most of the “gist” as they say. Here’s Ricardo with his soulmate, Tomas.

Tomas e Ricardo Antichita Libre e Stampe

Tomas e Ricardo Antichita Libre e Stampe

              

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pienza e Chiusi

  1. jmkennon says:

    The bookstore looks fabulous! Not much is better than poking around old books! Maybe eating zucchini blossoms…..but that’s about it!

Leave a Reply

