Oggi Andiamo a Cisternino 

This morning I walked all around the Sassi. There’s a whole other part of town we haven’t even discovered. I love being here, every interaction: buying a newspaper at the giornali stand, chatting with the barista. I ordered a cappuccino “portare via” to go, for my daughter and he said she was a bella donna come su mama! Even the older men like to flirt. Here’s an Italian potare via.  


My favorite piazza here is Piazza Sedile, where our coffee bar is. It’s by the music school, and you see many young people with cellos strapped to their backs and can hear musicians practicing from windows above. Here’s a short video:    

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oggi Andiamo a Cisternino 

  1. sandra062013 says:

    Sara, I love the great photos of the trulli! And your descriptions of your interactions. And the photo of the Italian to-go cappucino, ha! You look so happy and in your element. Sounds like your Italian is coming back to you in full force, I knew it would! Keep up the good work!

  2. ssteven2 says:

    Siamo molto felice! e voi! As far as my Italian goes, my pronunciation isn’t going over well here. I had to say “pesto” three times at the supermercato last night to be understood. I said domenico (our host’s name in Rome) instead of domenica for Sunday to our hostess here, Anna. They all kindly correct me, but I get flustered. Still, I’m great at throwing out common phrases, such as “buona giornata!” and they respond warmly. Today Ostuni! Buona giornata, la mia amica!

  3. jmkennon says:

    Love the video and being able to hear the music students. Lovely piazza! I am going to memorize portare via–I know it will be a phrase I use often! I get so flustered too–when I am speaking in class. I seem to always be getting word endings and forms wrong–so many to learn!! You’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

