Oggi partiamo Firzenze

Yesterday afternoon we wandered through the side streets between the Ponte Vecchio, the Pitti Palace, and Piazza Santo Spirito, where the workshops and artisans are. We saw wonderful artwork and modern day frescoes, but our favorite shop was a mother/daughter team originally from Argentina. The mother made leather products, and the daughter, Ivana, made bead work. The shop is Ali Firenze, and I couldn’t resist buying this beaded necklace with a Duomo pendant. Melissa needed a little more time to decide, but we came back and she bought the same necklace (colanna in Italian), but smaller. We were going to hold back, but even though they have a website, you can’t order online. Our necklaces are truly unique. I wore mine last night, and Melissa is wearing hers today. We knew our daughters would not approve if we wore them together.
Here’s their website: http://www.alifirenze.it
We love the Piazza Santo Spirito. It’s very vibrant in the evenings with people young and old hanging about the church steps, playing frisbee (this detail is for Will James) or playing guitars and singing. One group was singing “It’s a Wild World” by Cat Stevens. When I went to drop a coin, I realized they were singing for the fun of it and not collecting any money as are most street musicians.
We had a glass of wine at the Fiaschetteria we went to last night, and Melissa noticed the same regulars. Next we ate dinner at Il Ginone a few doors down on Via degli Serragli.

20140316-065133.jpg

20140316-065143.jpg

20140316-065202.jpg

20140316-065213.jpg
This last photo shows a baby girl was born here. The sign reads: E nato Stella. Stella will have a wonderful life growing up in Florence.
Here are the frisbee players on Piazza Santo Spirito. I am going there for Mass this morning. The final photos are morning from our window.

20140316-065500.jpg

20140316-065519.jpg

20140316-065604.jpg

20140316-065619.jpg

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oggi partiamo Firzenze

  1. sandra062013 says:

    I was going to try to wait until the after-school program at O.H. to look at your blog today, to give me something to look forward to, but I couldn’t wait! It is almost 8 a.m., and you must be getting ready, or already be, in flight to return to Austin. ;-( I’ll miss your blog, but look forward to seeing you and working with you. I can’t wait to see your necklace, and I loved the photos of the street musicians and Stella’s pink corsage. What a wonderful trip you’ve had, you packed in enough for three weeks! Safe travels home.

  2. ssteven2 says:

    Thanks, Sandra. Your insightful, fun comments made it a better blog. Thanks for taking care of the library. It’s 4:30 am, but I’ve slept 7 1/2 hours, so I shouldn’t be too much of a zombie. What’s amazing to me is how smoothly this trip went. I mean, we did not have any troubles at all. It was kind of charmed, in a way. We didn’t even get lost except for maybe a block or two. Melissa was a great traveling companion as I know you would be. Now to plan the next trip!

  3. jmkennon says:

    You have had some wonderful opportunities to capture the every day doings of the people of Florence–molto bene!! I don’t blame you both for buying the necklaces–they are gorgeous. A very nice remembrance of a lovely place.

  4. ssteven2 says:

    Yes, I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of wearing it. It reminds me of my trip: the perfect souvenir.

Leave a Reply

