Sopra Firenze

This afternoon we went to the Palazzo Vecchio. We climbed up to the tower for amazing views of Florence. I have an Alanari photo from the 30s or 40s with a man in a fedora and long gray coat climbing these steps.

20140310-212348.jpg
Here are more photos from the tower:

20140310-212433.jpg

20140310-212425.jpg

20140310-212443.jpg

20140310-212451.jpg

20140310-212506.jpg

20140310-212516.jpg
Michelangelo hated the sculptor, Baccio Bandindelli, and mourned for the butchered marble of his works. He particularly loathed his sculpture of Hercules and Cacus. He thought that the muscles looked liked canteloupes under the skin. I think Michelangelo was right. Here are two views:

20140310-213525.jpg

20140310-213534.jpg
This evening we ate in and then walked around the Oltrarno, the other side of the Arno where we are staying. It’s a neighborhood of artisans, craftsmen, tiny enoteche and trattorie. We like it over here.

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sopra Firenze

  1. I bought that same early 1900s photo of the man on the winding steps. What beautiful views from up there!

  2. sandra062013 says:

    Loved those photos of Florence from the tower – amazing. And of the muscular statue – but I liked the cantaloupes! I think the Otrarno sounds wonderful – I think it would be my kind of neighborhood! Enjoying your blog and photos so much. love, Sandra

    • ssteven2 says:

      Thanks, Sandra. I figured out how to do the captions officially, as you do in your blog, but I haven’t figured it out on this app, which is really easy to use in other ways. Tomorrow I’m excited about purse shopping in an area of town I’ve never been to: the San Ambrogio market. There’s a restaurant we’re going to try to get in tomorrow night called: La Burrasca. It’s supposed to be very good. If it’s warmer tomorrow, I’ll wear my vanilla leather jacket, and you’ll see it in the photos. When I left the store, I said, “Sono molto felice.” I am very happy! And I’ll be on the lookout for interesting papers for you.

Leave a Reply

