Piove in Austin ma non piove in Firenze

Well, another drop gorgeous day. We walked all the way up to San Miniato for a view and then down to Piazzela Michelangelo. Next I tried to go to Mass in the Chiesa di Dante, but it wasn’t happening, so I went to a random church, and the priest looked at me during the homily and asked me directly if I understood him! I felt like I was in some kind of Felini movie, so I answered,”un po,” and he asked again, and I said, “Capisco un po.” And then he expounded some more, and I understood he was saying he had a sore throat, so he was going to cut the service short. Suddenly, a family with three boys came bursting in and sat on the front row right in front of me. Then another family burst in, and a little girl ran across the aisle to hug another little girl, all in the middle of Mass! And then, after communion, the priest called up the little children and gave them the leftover pieces of the Eucharist. The whole experience was a bit surreal. The man next to me introduced me to his wife from Iowa. He said it was their neighborhood church and that the three families with children were all cousins. Anyway, it was charming.
I’ll add some photos here. We ate in our apartment and then walked up to Piazza San Marco, stopping at Il Papiere for paper products. We met Mira, and she told us to go see her friend, Aldo, at La Pelle for leather goods. We took the bus up to Fiesole, had a cappuccino while taking in the view of Florence, walked up the hill to another view and the lovely Chiesa di Convento di San Francesco. We rode the bus home, but it broke. Sfumo or smoke, so we had to get out, but we got another bus in dieci minuti. I had JUST said to Melissa how everything on our trip was turning out so perfectly.

20140309-172001.jpg

20140309-172016.jpg

20140309-172028.jpg

20140309-172039.jpg

20140309-172050.jpg

20140309-172058.jpg

20140309-172107.jpg

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Piove in Austin ma non piove in Firenze

  1. sandra062013 says:

    Sara, I love your photos and your comments! When you say ‘for those who are interested’ when you wrote about the food, I felt as if you were speaking directly to me! I loved the photo of the fresh seasonal artichokes, and your descriptions of the food, yay! We loved Fiesole when we were there, it is such an amazing view of the Duomo when you are coming down the hill into Florence. And I loved what you observed and wrote about the cousins in mass. Wonderful! much love, Sandra

  2. Jana Kennon says:

    Sara–What lovely photos–I think the views in the background of the photos of you are incredible. My favorite photo though, is of the blue shutters with the flowers–just a little slice of beauty and perfection in the everyday. Loved your story about going to Mass–I had a somewhat similar experience when Paige and I went to Mass in Verona–a nun saw us and came right up to us and started asking questions. We told her we were Americans, and I guess that was enough for her–she kind of smiled and walked away–she knew we wouldn’t be able to converse with her. And, there were children all over the church, just like your experience. Do they have some kind of radar for recognizing Americans? Hopefully, they are glad that we have come to share the beauty of their neighborhood churches. I guess they recognize that we aren’t part of the usual crowd…….

    Jana

    • ssteven2 says:

      Usually when I go to Mass it’s mainly little old ladies and no families at all here in Italy, so I”m glad we’ve both seen children. Maybe it’s Pope Francis!

Leave a Reply

