Domenica mattina e molto bella!

Here’s a photo of the window under our table through which we can view the street traffic on the Ponte Vecchio. Our window is not the round one with the grill but the rectangular one below the passageway, the famous Vasari Corridor beginning in the Palazzo Vecchio and running through the Uffizi, over the top of the Ponte Vechio, through a church, and all the way to the beginning of the Boboli Gardens of the Pitti Palace. So, the ceiling of our apartment is the floor of the Vasari Corridor. So cool. Other photos: We got lost trying to walk up to San Miniato without a map (going again this morning) but ran into Galileo’s house. The fountain with the statue is just outside our apartment.
More later. The day has just begun.

20140309-084848.jpg

20140309-084901.jpg

20140309-084911.jpg

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Domenica mattina e molto bella!

  1. sandra062013 says:

    We’ve just finished a wonderful meal here in Telluride, came home for a breather before going out for a post-prandial cocktail, and I sat down at Kurt’s computer to treat myself to your blog! Ali asked me to read your blog out loud, so I have been, and afterwards, she said, “Sounds Mah-velous!” Indeed. BTW, had a lovely conversation with your son at the Library before I left – seems he forgot you would be in Italy on Friday! What a delightful and charming young man, is Jack. Keep those great blog entries coming. love you, s

  2. ssteven2 says:

    Sandra, I hope you are enjoying the beauty of the snow on the mountains and quiet time to read and reflect by the fire. I thought of you last night. We ate in and then walked over toward Santa Croce to get gelato at Vivoli, and I accented the correct syllable. I ordered Riso (rice), my favorite for some reason, but I’ll have to branch out and try others. There are some flavors that are more the consistency of whipped cream. I will have to try one of those tonight. Oh, and our Amici degli Uffizi cards worked beautifully. We were treated as VIPs and walked right in ahead of the line to see David. Every time I see that statue I am amazed. Thanks for following the blog.

  3. ssteven2 says:

    So glad you got to talk to Jack. He was excited because he got the legislative internship he applied for in Denver this summer. So proud of his initiative. I miss the family when I’m here because I remember how much fun we had when we stayed here for a week in ’05. I remember Jack, just finished sixth grade, learning about how much longer you have to wait in Italian restaurants. He learned to say, “Il conto, per favore,” with a perfect accent. The comment above was intended for your comment on the next post. Enjoy le montane! Divertiti!

  4. Jana Kennon says:

    What a beautiful place you are staying in! You have the magic touch for finding amazing accommodations!! And, I read your comment above–congrats to Jack on his internship–I bet it will be fantastic!!

    Jana

    • ssteven2 says:

      He’ll be in Denver, so I’ll miss seeing him in the summer, but I’m proud he got it. How is Matt’s Berlin adventure? We must have lunch as soon as I return!

Leave a Reply

