Arriviamo a Roma

Melissa and I miraculously made our one hour connection in London, with the help of a wonderful British Airways guide who led us along the airport trains and weaved us through the perfume squirters of the designer shops to our gate. Our hotel concierge, Berardo, recommended a restaurant, Maccheroni, near the Pantheon, and we ate in a little cellar room. Artichokes are in season, so we ate fettucini with artichokes after having a cocktail on our hotel roof. It’s on Via Pietra, two blocks from the Pantheon one way and two blocks from the Trevi Fountain in the other.
We chatted with two men next to us at dinner, Andrea and _____. I think one was disappointed we failed to meet them at the Trevi Fountain at eleven. But they were friendly and interesting, and I was able to speak some Italian. We talked about the Italian film, La Grande Belleza, and how it won the Oscar for best foreign (stranieri) film.

20140308-073238.jpg

20140308-073250.jpg

20140308-073303.jpg

20140308-073325.jpg

20140308-073315.jpg

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Arriviamo a Roma

  1. Jana Kennon says:

    Sara–so glad you had help navigating the airport in London–did you fly on the Dreamliner? Your fountain photos are dreamy………..they remind me of the movie Three Coins in the Fountain–no wonder your Italian gentlemen friends were disappointed that you didn’t meet them! That’s too cute!! The artichokes are just gorgeous–I bet the pasta was fantastic!! Thanks for the post–I am so enjoying your trip!! Love, Jana

  2. ssteven2 says:

    Jana, thanks. Can’t wait to read about your Lake Garda adventures this summer. I love traveling in March! It’s not hot! which is how I think of Italy. I love the sun wearing a scarf and jacket.

  3. acqueen2012 says:

    Yum, artichokes my favorite! I wish they were in season when I was there! You and Melissa you look beautiful and not at all jet lagged 🙂 HAVE FUN!

Leave a Reply

