Il tramonto (sunset)

Tonight we had dinner at Osteria del Conte because we heard it was fish night (Friday). The service was slow, but hey, il tempo italiano. And the cuoca (cook), an elderly woman, came around the tables to see how everyone liked the food. She taught me how to pronounce verdura grigliate (grilled vegetables). The best dish was Richard’s roasted potatoes. They were amazing. I wish I could do that to potatoes. After dinner we walked into Piazza Grande where families were gathered, little children chasing each other on scooters. We went to the vista panoramica and met a couple from Philadelphia who were on their honeymoon. They were just so happy to be there, and we looked out into the hills outlined by a streak of pink and then down below to the jewel of San Biagio. On the way home, we walked through Piazza Grande again with the moon next to the bell tower of the Duomo. Finished a perfect evening with tiramasu gelato.

20130621-221102.jpg

20130621-221111.jpg

20130621-221132.jpg

20130621-221147.jpg

20130621-221211.jpg

20130621-221201.jpg

20130621-221226.jpg

20130621-222547.jpg

20130621-222602.jpg

20130621-222614.jpg

20130621-222633.jpg

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Il tramonto (sunset)

  1. sandra062013 says:

    Sara, I am so enjoying reading about all of it – the trip back to Perugia, the battle museum (how cool that the guide gave you a book!), the food, the sunsets, the drives, the walks – makes me so nostalgic for the time we’ve spent in Italy – and so jealous that you are there! And, the way you are writing your blog, I feel like I am learning a little Italian to boot! Keep up the good work!

    • ssteven2 says:

      Thanks, Sandra. I can’t wait for you to reciprocate on your own blog! The couple on their honeymoon are going to Ireland after Italy. He has relatives in Galway, so they are doing both. You should have seen how happy they were. They’d never been to Europe. It was just magical.

  2. Jana Kennon says:

    Sara–I am so enjoying your beautiful photos! It seems like there is no where in Italy that isn’t just stunning to see and photograph. You are a great photographer. What kind of camera are you using? I just got my first digital camera, and can’t wait to try it out in Verona.

  3. ssteven2 says:

    It’s just a simple Nikon Coolpix. It’s not fancy at all. The secret to good pictures is to take a lot! (I have many bad ones I don’t post) and to try to get in close. We usually tend to stand back, but an old friend gave me that tip a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

