Dopo, Molto, Troppo

Charlotte and I have come up with a quick way to teach tourists Italian. All you need are these three words, which we use di solito (often).
Dopo (after, as in my favorite phrase, dopo domani: day after tomorrow) or just “A dopo,” as in, “Until later.”
Molto: very
Troppo: too much

So, you can get around Italy with these three words.

Domani vado a Siena a visitare la mia cugina, Carlotta. I decided to take the bus because it’s a pain to get to Siena by train– too many changes. So, I got online and went to two bus stations and finally figured it out. It’s only an hour and a half by bus, no changes. Siena is one of my favorite cities (hill towns).
Only have two hours of class on Fridays, which is a great way to start the fine settimana. On the way home, I stopped by the fruttivendelo and bought strawberries and zucchini flowers. Yes, I’m going to try to fry them for dinner. I just need to get some bread crumbs. Should be interesting.

I’m also including two photos of Perugia now that it’s not so full of jazz festival attendees. I love the light best of all in the mornings. One photo is of the Fontana Maggiore and the other is of the Arco with a fountain under it. Perugia has fabulous public transportation. It’s called the Mini Metro. These pods on a monorail come by every minute, seriously. You never have to wait. The stations are clean and the ride is fun and smooth. When it gets close to the centro, the Mini Metro becomes a subway under the town. I’ve taken a couple of photos of the Mini Metro as well.
A dopo.
Ciao.

P.S. For those of you who remember the store Pappagallo, it means “parrot” in Italian.

20120720-121803.jpg

20120720-122036.jpg

20120720-122104.jpg

20120720-122120.jpg

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dopo, Molto, Troppo

  1. Sandra Martin says:

    Fried rats, LOL! I’m sure they tasted better than they looked, right? Love the Mini Metro – why can’t they have something like that in Austin?! Siena was also one of the favorite towns of my brother, who lived in Naples for three years. Am loving your blog, and the pics!

    • ssteven2 says:

      Thanks, Sandra, for following. Keep taking homework breaks. Sigh. I wish I could just speak Italian in a continual present tense with no pronouns.

Leave a Reply

