Mia cugina, Carlotta, e il pompiere

I won’t be writing daily posts because I am now “living” in another country. I get up, go to one of two bars around the corner on Piazza Danti to have my cappucino al banco (standing at the bar is cheaper), I go to my Italian classes, have lunch, go swimming at Piscina Pellini, go to dinner and then walk around and listen to free jazz on two different stages in the evenings. Charlotte and I are going out tonight after I have my first language lab session shortly. She met an Italian fireman right away. They went out on a date to a tartuffo (truffle) festival, and she had a great time. I am sure she will meet many more Italian friends. I’ll see if I can’t find a photo to add before I walk down the hill to my class.

Waiting for Charlotte, I’m reading an essay in the International Herald Tribune: “The Pilgrim and the Tourist” by Ilan Stavans and Joshua Ellison
It ends with this paragraph:
“Our wandering is meant to lead back toward ourselves. This is the paradox: We set out on adventures to gain deeper access to ourselves; we travel to transcend our own limitations. Travel should be an art through which our restlessness finds expression. We must bring back the idea of travel as a search.”

20120710-230238.jpg

The funny thing about this picture is that I don’t think either one of us looks like ourselves. Oh well, here are the cousins in Perugia.

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mia cugina, Carlotta, e il pompiere

  1. love the pic of you and charlotte!!!!! so pretty! 🙂

  2. ssteven2 says:

    The light is so beautiful in that spot. I never grow tired of looking out over those hills towards Assisi!

Leave a Reply

