First day of school

School started at 8 am, which is really 8:10 am in Italian time. Then, every hour, let’s say from 8:55 until 9:10, there is una pausa or break. So, even though I went to class from 8 am until 1 pm, I had some breaks. I have two teachers and a schedule that varies daily. In my class are people from all over the world: Korea, Russia, Austria, Bahrain, Poland, Greece, Montenegro, Japan, Germany, Turkey, Spain. There’s only one other American, a guy from Seattle who is twenty-three.
The Polish priest is in my class, Jack, but in Polish. He introduced me to Teresa, a girl from Spain, saying, “She is American. A native English speaker!” as if I were a celebrity. And for many places in the world, we are considered celebrities, or at least extraordinarily lucky to live in a country such as ours and to be native speakers of the international language. Jack really wanted to learn English, but his bishop sent him to learn Italian. So, I told him I could teach him in the breaks.
Class was a little boring at times, so I texted Caroline.
“Mom, I can’t believe you’re texting during class!” Now I get it. I will try to be more interesting at O. Henry. Still, I am definitely at the right level. I understand most of what’s going on and am learning a lot. It’s just so hard to remember everything. Oh, and I am the oldest one in the class, although there are a couple of people who are in their forties.
The Luna Bar is distributing flyers for: 4 Luglio 2012: Festa Dell’Indipendenza Americana with “Happy Hour: jager bomb” and “Special Deal: free shot with every cocktail.” The embarrassing part was that the guy handing out the flyers recognized me from last night. C. and I went to “dinner” by ordering a spritz and a proseco, and they bring you a huge tray full of all kinds of appetizers, and that was our dinner: 11 Euros total.
Okay, I bought a charger for my keyboard, so I will work on not becoming too verbose. Happy Fourth of July to all. Be grateful to have been born in the USA.
This is a view of my universita, the orange building, from a cafe. Unfortunately, most of my classes are in another building that is not as nice. Still, I love how close everything is, how it’s a real walking town.

20120704-153320.jpg

20120704-153603.jpg

20120704-153625.jpg

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First day of school

  1. Sara,
    I admire you so much for studying Italian! I can just picture you chatting with all the other students, and visiting the local bars. I can’t associate Italy with studying, but I’m sure you’ll find a way to enjoy it. Looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

