Day two: Venice

Later:

We had a wonderful evening. Mom, we found that place,  Ca’Sagredo. It’s a few blocks from our apartment!  We took some photos for you: the entrance and the view from the other side of the  Rialto. It’s the pink palace.  It’s very nice, but very fancy. I prefer staying in our little apartment. After dinner took a vaporetto and then must have walked for miles. So fun. Oh, and finished up with gelato.

We also went to Mass this evening in San Marco. It was so beautiful, staring at the golden mosaics and hearing Mass in such an old and sacred space.

I’m still working with my ipad for uploading photos onto this blog. In the meantime, I figured out how to do an icloud journal, which is really a photo montage. I went out yesterday evening and wandered the back streets, looking for street shrines.
We are definitely near the tourist horde path, but so many people don’t realize if they took a few turns off, they’d be in a completely different environment.
So, here’s photo montage of photos I took yesterday. Hope they come up.
Enjoy. Btw, it’s very hot. The first thing the owner of the apartment said was to apologize for how hot it was. I reassured her that we were from Texas. It’s hot walking around in the middle of the day, but we still haven’t turned on our AC, just sleep with the windows open.

 

About ssteven2

I'm a reader, writer, swimmer, and school librarian. I love my summers so I can travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day two: Venice

  1. LOVE reading about your days in Italia. Great pics of Venice!

  2. ssteven2 says:

    Thanks, Beverley. I wasn’t sure if the icloud photo link would come up. I keep going back and forth between my ipad and C.’s laptop.
    It’s pausa here. I will think of you and your passion for art history tomorrow in the Doge’s palace and Tuesday in L’Accademia.

  3. Sandra Martin says:

    Sara, am enjoying your entries very much! Kurt and I went to Venice 27 years ago, and it brings back wonderful memories. Love your blog photos of Venice and Caroline, but I was not able to open the icloud link ;-( . Take my typing test at AISD HR tomorrow, pray for me!

    • ssteven2 says:

      Do not worry about that silly test, Sandra. I was telling Caroline about all the typing tests I had to take when I applied for jobs when I got out in ’81. I’m fast on the computer, but I was terrible on a typewriter. No autocorrect and such anxiety about making “errors!” I can’t seem to load photos to the blog from my ipad, but as long as C.’s with me, I will put them up through her laptop. I want to write more about Mass in San Marco. It was a beautiful experience.

Leave a Reply

